Allied Artists' Association

The Allied Artists' Association formed in 1908 by the art critic Frank Rutter and a group of artists who disapproved of the conservatism of the New English Art Club (NEAC). Members included Christopher Nevinson, Augustus John, Henry Lamb, Catherine Courtauld, Vanessa Bell, Percy Wyndham Lewis, Stanley Spencer and Walter Bayes. At its first exhibition in 1908 over 3,000 works were shown.