Photosecession Group

In 1902 a group of photographers, including Alfred Stieglitz, Edward Steichen, Myra Wiggins, Clarence White, Gertrude Kasebier and Alvin Longdon Coburn, broke away from the Camera Club of New York, to established what became known as the Photosecession Group.

Members of the group were involved in the production of the photography journal, Camera Work (1903-17) and in 1910 sponsored an international show of more than 500 photographs. Internal divisions caused the group to break-up soon afterwards.